My “Since Moment”

The Dolphins have been promoting their 50th season celebration by giving the Dolphins Family the opportunity to share their “Since Moment“. This include, former Dolphins players and fans, have been sharing the moment they became a Dolphins fan.

I thought this would be a great chance to share my Since Moment with all my readers.

As far as I can remember, the Dolphins have always been in my life. My Sundays have always consisted of the following order:

  • Church
  • Sunday Dinner at Grandma’s
  • Dolphins

Growing up I really didn’t like going to church, so the Dolphins always the thing I looked forward to on Sunday afternoons.

If I can pinpoint a moment that made me follow the Dolphins, I would have to say during a third grade class field trip.

My third grade teacher, Mrs. Marts, was a huge Dolphins fan. Our classroom was had the typical educational posters on the wall, the difference was our classroom was decorated with Dolphins things everywhere. We’re able to be on the field during he game. This was the only game I ever had the chance to attend.

One day, there was a local ad in the newspaper, for schools in Broward County that informed us about a contest with a prize that would get us on the field for a Sunday night game. In order to win, we had to be part of the top three classes in the entire county that read the most in the entire county. Surprisingly and fortunately, my class won and it was a time I’d cherish forever. Even though the Dolphins lost, watching the game on the field and enjoying free food for my eight year old self was awesome. Since then, I followed the Dolphins to see if they win or lose.

The closest I followed the Dolphins was the 1-15 season in 2007. I watched, as usual, to see if they won and it was like a drama. I kept watching to see if that Sunday would be “THE Dolphins’ day” and more often than not it would not. Unfortunately, more often than not it would not be their day.   It wasn’t until they were 0-13 and finally secured a win against the Baltimore Ravens. Since that season I’ve alway followed the Dolphins record wise and it captured my interest in the NFL as well.

A reading contest with the prize going to a Dolphins game grabbed the Dolphins attention and lead to other moments that drew me closer to them. They have been around my entire life and I’ll always been a Dolphins fans or a Dol-fan, even in this era of mediocrity. So I’ll end this post with the most appropriate way possible: Go Phins! Fins Up!!

Published by onlysid19

I love sports. I'm into music and talking with people. I am a future sportscaster. Go ahead and read and enjoy.

Leave a comment