The Fish Disappoint Once Again

MIAMI, FL - MAY 03: Giancarlo Stanton #27 of the Miami Marlins reacts after being left on second base during the fourth inning of the game against the Philadelphia Phillies at Marlins Park on May 3, 2015 in Miami, Florida. (Photo by Rob Foldy/Getty Images)

The Miami Marlins season continue to slip away and currently making efforts to re-grasp this disappointing season with Jose Fernandez’s return. The Fish missed their chance to catch some attention in Miami and they BLEW IT! When they started the season 3-11 and I did not panic. However, they blew the chance to “take over Miami” due to the Miami Heat not making the playoffs for the first time in years. The Marlins briefly rebounded then continued to struggle.

I’m not going to keep writing about the Marlins inability to meet expectations on the field. I’ve written many negative things about them on Facebook and Twitter.  Instead, I’ll go over why people aren’t interested in them, especially in South Florida.

I recently took a trip to New York (Manhattan) for the first time and I saw many people wearing Yankees hats. I heard the same thing with many people wearing Tigers hats (The Old English “D”) in Michigan. Then I ask myself “why can’t many people in South Florida wear Marlins hats?”

The answer is simply that no cares right now and rightfully so. Just like 2012, the Marlins had high expectations and didn’t live up to it again. The way this year is going, they are sinking into six straight non-winning seasons.

Honestly, I’m over it! I’m tired of talking and writing negative about the Marlins. I said this earlier this year and I’ll say it again: The Marlins are never going to get anywhere as long as Jeffrey Loria is the owner. He keeps changing managers like they’re used up napkins and he continues to keep the current Front Office around.

The only reason this front office is still around is because of the 2003 World Series Championship. The thing people seem to miss is that Dave Dombroski, former Marlins and current Detroit Tigers General Manager, built the foundation of that championship team. Mike Hill and Co. inherited the foundation and made the necessary moves to win. Since then, this Front Office has proven that they can’t build a playoff contender from scratch.

The Bottom Line is this: I’ll always love the Marlins and will keep watching games, but we (Marlins fans) are stuck in some mud until Jeffrey Loria sells the team to a knowledgable and competent businessman who is worthy of being a baseball owner. Who knows? Maybe it will take Loria saying something racist like Donald Sterling or making a positive comment about Fidel Castro like Ozzie Guilen.

Published by onlysid19

I love sports. I'm into music and talking with people. I am a future sportscaster. Go ahead and read and enjoy.

Leave a comment